Basilica Barry D. Truax

The work is based entirely on the bells of the Basilica in Quebec City as recorded by the World Soundscape Project at Simon Fraser University during a cross-country tour in 1973. The three bells are heard at their original pitch, as well as an octave lower and a twelfth higher, but all of these versions are stretched in time, often to twenty or more times their original duration. The extended versions allow the listener to hear out the inner harmonics inside the bells, and in moving inside the sound it seems as if we are entering the large volume of the church itself. The piece is an elaboration of a section of the composer’s work Dominion (1991), for chamber ensemble and two digital soundtracks, which is based on soundmarks from all across Canada.

  • Year of composition: 1992
  • Genre: Soundscape
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Instrumentation: 2 or 8 digital soundtracks
  • Software used: PODX system for sound synthesis and composition.
  • Duration of the submitted work: 12:00
  • Publisher: Cambridge Street Publishing
  • Premiere: June 8, 1992, Bourges, International Festival of Electroacoustic Music
  • Disc publication: Basilica is available on the Cambridge Street Records CD Song of Songs CSR-CD 9401

Linked project

  • CAP
    Allik, Amies, Appleton, Austin, Bach, Bartley, Belkin, Berg, Bonnier, Bouchard…
    314 tracks

More works by Barry D. Truax